The Dangerous Summer Tickets

5 Events

The Dangerous Summer was an alternative rock band from Ellicott City, Maryland, based out of Los Angeles, California. The band consisted of AJ Perdomo (lead vocals, bass guitar), Cody Payne (guitar, backup vocals), Matthew Kennedy and Ben Cato (drums). The band formed in 2006 with Perdomo and Payne joined by Bryan Czap (lead guitar) and Tyler Minsberg (drums). TDS independently released a five song EP 'There Is No Such Thing as Science' in 2007, which drew the attention of Hopeless Records. They re-released the debut EP under a new name, 'If You Could Only Keep Me Alive' with new songs included. The band's debut studio album, 'Reach for the Sun' was released on May 5, 2009. The album reached #42 on the Billboard Heatseekers chart. On May 14, 2010, the band announced they would be playing 'Reach for the Sun' from front to back on their first headlining tour. The Morning Of will be playing the entire tour. Go Radio, Action Item, and The Bigger Lights was also on the tour at various dates. In the summer of 2011, TDS played a Warped Tour schedule and released their second full-length album, titled 'War Paint' which was on released on July 19, 2011. Tyler left the band in late 2010, as did Bryan Czap in 2012. The band had stated influences from Third Eye Blind, Bright Eyes, U2, Phil Collins, Explosions in the Sky, Jimmy Eat World, and Andrew McMahon. "The Dangerous Summer" is taken from the novel of same name written by Ernest Hemingway. On the 29th of March 2014, AJ Perdomo announced he was leaving the band to become a father and because of trouble with fellow member Cody Payne. Shortly after, the band was confirmed by remaining member Cody Payne to have finished. Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.